Skip to main content Skip to accessibility
  Non-Javascript users can confirm they have successfully signed out of MyAccount by clicking here

Children's services directorate responsibilities

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Director of children's services

Gail Hopper
gail.hopper@rochdale.gov.uk

  • Early help, early intervention and early years services
  • Children with disabilities and special educational needs
  • Services to schools and school improvement
  • Children's social care
  • Safeguarding unit
  • Youth Justice Service
  • Practice improvement, performance and quality assurance
  • Children's joint commissioning
  • Youth service
  • Raising participation and skills
  • Strengthening families

Assistant director of children's social services

Julia Hassall
julia.hassall@rochdale.gov.uk

  • Mass and initial response
  • Adoption services
  • Fostering services.
  • Children's homes
  • Child and adolescent mental health (CAMHS)
  • Child protection response
  • Cared for children
  • Care leavers
  • Emergency duty team​
  • Youth Justice Service

Assistant director of early help and schools

Steve Kay
steve.kay@rochdale.gov.uk

  • Special education needs and children with disabilities
  • Schools organisation and development schools – primary and secondary
  • Services to schools
  • Early Years and children's centres
  • Joint commissioning and Integration.
  • Early help and stronger families
  • Youth service

Head of safeguarding

Susan Thomas
susan.thomas@rochdale.gov.uk

  • Independent reviewing officers
  • Safeguarding partnership
  • Safeguarding unit

Head of cared for children and youth justice service

Sharon Hawkins (interim)
sharon.hawkins@rochdale.gov.uk  

  • Cared for children and care leavers
  • CAMHS
  • Youth Justice Service​​

Head of child protection and care proceedings

Chris James
chris.james2@rochdale.gov.uk

  • Emergency duty team
  • Public law outline
  • Child protection
  • Family Time Service

Head of provider services

​Ian Godfrey
ian.godfrey@rochdale.gov.uk

  • Fostering
  • Adoption
  • Children's homes
  • Commissioning and placements

Head of complex safeguarding

Tracy Chatterton
tracy.chatterton@rochdale.gov.uk  

  • Sunrise
  • ACT
  • Missing from home
  • ​Pre-birth service
  • First response teams

 

Head of Schools

Gillian Barratt
gillian.barratt@rochdale.gov.uk

  • School improvement
  • Primary and secondary advice to schools
  • Inclusion including; fair access, equalities, education welfare
  • Overall responsibility for schools HR, governors​ support, educational visits and Rochdale Supply Agency
  • Raising participation and skills.
  • REAL Trust.
  • Admissions​
  • Music service

Head of special educational needs (SEN) and children with disabilities (CWD)

Michael Kemp
michael.kemp@rochdale.gov.uk

  • Special educational needs including SEN assessment team
  • Educational psychology service
  • Rochdale additional needs service
  • Area SENCO team
  • Children with disabilities including social work team
  • Occupational therapy team
  • Resources
  • Early years keyworkers

Head of early years and early help

Amanda Highland-Partington
amanda.highland-partington@rochdale.gov.uk

  • Children’s centres
  • Family support
  • Parenting team
  • Childcare sufficiency
  • 2, 3 and 4 year old funded places
  • Subsidised and sponsored day care
  • Training team
  • Ofsted registration
  • Family information service/family services directory
  • Early years and childcare advisory team
  • Family learning service
  • Play and development team
  • FAST training
  • Early help
  • Safeguarding hub
  • Family service model
  • Early help domestic abuse officer
  • Stronger families advocate team

Head of practice and improvement

Bev Paris
bev.paris@rochdale.gov.uk

  • Practice and improvement
  • Business support
  • Workforce development

Schools organisational and development team manager

Debra Kay
debra.kay@rochdale.gov.uk

  • Management of capital investment across school estate including new construction projects, repairs and maintenance
  • School place planning, including reorganisation and establishment of new schools
  • School admissions for primary and secondary children, including within year transfers and representation at admission appeals
  • Contract management for school PFI (Private Finance Initiative) projects
  • Academy conversion and development
  • Home to school transport in mainstream schools

Senior youth officer

Diane Higgins
diane.higgins@rochdale.gov.uk

  • 4 township youth service teams
  • Youth council
  • Youth cabinet
  • Children’s council Raising the Participation Age (RPA)

Business support principal manager

Lee-Anne Agard
lee-anne.agard@rochdale.gov.uk

  • Effective business support across children’s services
  • Responsible for children’s services business support staff
  • Co-ordination of inspections preparation and updating annexe A data
  • Implement children’s social care quality assurance f​ramework
  • Co-ordinate and represent children’s service business continuity plan
  • Children services rep to governance board and FOI responsibility

Performance improvement manager (children)

Vicki Robinson
vicki.robinson@rochdale.gov.uk

  • Manage provision and coordination of planning and performance information, advice and guidance
  • Manage business planning, performance management and monitoring
  • Improvement support, scrutiny and inspection support for children’s services in driving continuous improvement

Workforce and organisational development manager

Brendan Richards​​
brendan.richards@rochdale.gov.uk

  • Develop a workforce strategy and provide learning and development support for the staff in the children’s services directorate in accordance with legislation, guidance and organisational requirements
  • Work in partnership with key stakeholders/partners to develop an integrated skilled and competent workforce
  • Support the director and assistant directors of children’s services in delivering change and practice improvement
  • Manage the workforce development team